Man Booker Prize Winners 2019 Announced: Complete Winners List

Man Booker Prize Winners: Margaret Atwood and Bernardine Evaristo won Booker Prize 2019 for their novels The Testament & Girl, Women, Other. Atwood’s The Testaments, a follow-up to her dystopian The Handmaid’s Tale, and Evaristo’s Girl, Woman, Other, which is told in the voices of 12 different characters, mostly black women.

Evaristo’s win makes her the first black woman to win the Booker since it began in 1969 and the first black British author. At 79, Atwood becomes the prize’s oldest winner. The Canadian author previously won the Booker in 2000 for The Blind Assassin; she becomes the fourth author to have won the prize twice.

⇓⇓Static GK 2019 Complete Video Series⇓⇓

General Awareness is a very important section in almost every competitive exams like FSSAI, RRB NTPC, FCI, CWC, LIC, ESIC, IBPS, SBI, RBI, AAI, DRDO, ISRO, NTRO, State Level Exams, UPSC &  Various Competitive Exams.

Man Booker Prize Winners

Questions based on Man Booker Prize are always asked in various competitive exams. In this post we are providing you updated list of Man Booker Prize Winners. You can download PDF from the link given below.

Get Static GK PDF Notes for all competitive exams like FSSAI, RRB NTPC, FCI, CWC, LIC, ESIC, IBPS, SBI, RBI, AAI, DRDO, ISRO, NTRO, State Level Exams, UPSC &  Various Competitive Exams. Practice Static GK Questions and Answers Here. You can download all Static GK 2019 PDF notes from our website Prashant Chaturvedi

The Booker Prize for Fiction (formerly known as the Booker–McConnell Prize and the Man Booker Prize) is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original novel written in the English language and published in the United Kingdom.

static gk 2020 PDF

The winner of the Man Booker Prize is generally assured international renown and success; therefore, the prize is of great significance for the book trade. From its inception, only novels written by Commonwealth, Irish, and South African (and later Zimbabwean) citizens were eligible to receive the prize; in 2014 it was widened to any English-language novel—a change which proved controversial.

Here is the list of Man Booker Prize Winners:

1969- P. H. Newby (Something to Answer For)

1970- Bernice Rubens (The Elected Member)

1970- J. G. Farrell (Troubles)

1971- V. S. Naipaul (In a Free State)

1972- John Berger (G.)

1973- J. G. Farrell (The Siege of Krishnapur)

1974- Nadine Gordimer (The Conservationist)

1974- Stanley Middleton (Holiday)

1975- Ruth Prawer Jhabvala (Heat and Dust)

1976- David Storey (Saville)

1977- Paul Scott (Staying On)

1978- Iris Murdoch (The Sea, the Sea)

1979- Penelope Fitzgerald (Offshore)

1980- William Golding (Rites of Passage)

1981- Salman Rushdie (Midnight’s Children)

1982- Thomas Keneally (Schindler’s Ark)

1983- J. M. Coetzee (Life & Times of Michael)

1984- Anita Brookner (Hotel du Lac)

1985- Keri Hulme (The Bone People)

1986- Kingsley Amis (The Old Devils)

1987- Penelope Lively (Moon Tiger)

1988- Peter Carey (Oscar and Lucinda)

1989- Kazuo Ishiguro (The Remains of the Day)

1990- A. S. Byatt (Possession)

1991-Ben Okri (The Famished Road)

1992- Michael Ondaatje (The English Patient)

1992- Barry Unsworth (Sacred Hunger)

1993- Roddy Doyle (Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha)

1994- James Kelman (How Late It Was, How Late)

1995- Pat Barker (The Ghost Road)

1996- Graham Swift (Last Orders)

1997- Arundhati Roy (The God of Small Things)

1998- Ian McEwan (Amsterdam)

1999- J. M. Coetzee (Disgrace)

2000- Margaret Atwood (The Blind Assassin)

2001- Peter Carey (True History of the Kelly Gang)

2002- Yann Martel (Life of Pi)

2003- DBC Pierre (Vernon God Little)

2004- Alan Hollinghurst (The Line of Beauty)

2005- John Banville (The Sea)

2006- Kiran Desai (The Inheritance of Loss)

2007- Anne Enright (The Gathering)

2008- Aravind Adiga (The White Tiger)

2009- Hilary Mantel (Wolf Hall)

2010- Howard Jacobson (The Finkler Question)

2011- Julian Barnes (The Sense of an Ending)

2012- Hilary Mantel (Bring Up the Bodies)

2013- Eleanor Catton (The Luminaries)

2014- Richard Flanagan (The Narrow Road to the Deep North)

2015- Marlon James (A Brief History of Seven Killings)

2016- Paul Beatty (The Sellout)

2017- George Saunders (Lincoln in the Bardo)

2018- Anna Burns (Milkman)

2019- Margaret Atwood (The Testament) & Bernardine Evaristo (Girl,Women, Other)

Man Booker International Prize Winners

Whereas the Man Booker Prize was open only to writers from the Commonwealth, Ireland and Zimbabwe, the International Prize was open to all nationalities who had work available in English including translations. The award was worth £60,000 and given every two years to a living author’s entire body of literature, similar to the Nobel Prize for Literature.The Man Booker International prize also allowed for a separate award for translation. If applicable, the winning author could choose their translators to receive a prize sum of £15,000. The 2015 inaugural winner of the prize was Albanian writer Ismail Kadare. Praising its concerted judgement, the journalist Hephzibah Anderson noted that the Man Booker International Prize was “fast becoming the more significant award, appearing an ever more competent alternative to the Nobel”.

Year Author Country Translator Language
2005 Ismail Kadare Albania N/A Albanian
2007 Chinua Achebe Nigeria N/A English
2009 Alice Munro Canada N/A English
2011 Philip Roth USA N/A English
2013 Lydia Davis USA N/A English
2015 László Krasznahorkai Hungary George Szirtes and Ottilie Mulzet Hungarian


In July 2015 it was announced that the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize would be disbanded. The prize money from that award would be folded into the Man Booker International Prize, which would now act similarly to the Independent prize: awarding an annual book of fiction translated into English, with the £50,000 prize split between author and translator. Each shortlisted author and translator receives £1,000. Its aim is to encourage publishing and reading of quality works in translation and to highlight the work of translators. Judges select a longlist of 12 or 13 books in March, followed by a shortlist of six in April, with the winner announced in May.

Jokha Alharthi is the first author writing in Arabic to have won the Man Booker International Prize.

Year Author Country Work Translator Language
2016 Han Kang South Korea The Vegetarian Deborah Smith Korean
2017 David Grossman Israel A Horse Walks Into a Bar Jessica Cohen Hebrew
2018 Olga Tokarczuk Poland Flights Jennifer Croft Polish
2019 Jokha Alharthi Oman Celestial Bodies Marilyn Booth Arabic

Follow us on- Facebook | YouTube | Telegram | Instagram | Pinterest

Telegram Channel ATC Adda Telegram Channel PCT

Also Read: Purchase Best Study Materials

Also Read: Current Affairs 2019 | Static GK 2019

Prashant Chaturvedi


Prashant Chaturvedi

Spread the love

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *