Introduction to Indian Defence System: Indian Defence News | Static GK 2019 PDF |

Indian Defence System: General Awareness is a very important section in almost every competitive exams like FSSAI, RRB NTPC, FCI, CWC, LIC, ESIC, IBPS, SBI, RBI, AAI, DRDO, ISRO, NTRO, State Level Exams, UPSC &  Various Competitive Exams. Questions based on Static GK are always asked in various competitive exams. In this post we are providing you introduction of Indian Defence System. You can download PDF from the link given below. Get Static GK PDF Notes for all competitive exams like FSSAI, RRB NTPC, FCI, CWC, LIC, ESIC, IBPS, SBI, RBI, AAI, DRDO, ISRO, NTRO, State Level Exams, UPSC &  Various Competitive Exams. Practice Static GK Questions and Answers Here. You can download all Static GK 2019 notes from our website Prashant Chaturvedi.

Introduction to Indian Defence System

The President of India is the supreme commander of the Indian defence system.The whole administrative control of the Armed forces lies in the Ministry of Defence.The Defence Minister (Raksha Mantri) is responsible to Parliament for all matters concerning defence of the country.
Indian defence system has been divided into three services-.
1. Army

2. Navy

3. Air Force

Chief of Indian Army- General Bipin Rawat
Chief of Indian Air Force- Birender Singh Dhanoa
Chief of Indian Navy- Currently Sunil Lanba. Next Navy Chief- Vice Admiral Karambir Singh (To be appointed on 31st May)

Introduction to Indian Defence System: Indian Defence News

Indian Army

The Indian Army is the world’s second largest army in terms of military personnel. The basic responsibility of the Army is to safeguard the territorial integrity of the nation against external aggression. In addition, the Army is often required to assist the civil administration during internal security disturbances and in the maintenance of law and order, in organising relief operations during natural calamities like floods, earthquakes and cyclones and in the maintenance of essential services.

The Indian Army is one of the finest armies in the world. Modernisation and up gradation of Army is a continuous process to keep Armed Forces ready to meet any challenge of tomorrow. It is based on fiver years plans. Focus and core areas of modernisation has been:-

  • Improvement in the Fire Power and increased Mobility
  • All Weather Battle Field Surveillance capability
  • Night Fighting capabilities
  • Enhance capability of Special Force
  • Capability for Network Centric Warfare
  • NBC Protection

Army has its headquarters in New Delhi.
It is head by Chief of the Army Staff and assisted by the Vice-Chief of the Army Staff and seven other Principal Staff Officers, namely, two Deputy Chief of Army Staff, Adjutant General, Quarter Master General, Master General of Ordinance, Military Secretary and Engineer-in-Chief. The army has following commands

S.No. Command Headquarter
1 Western command Chandigarh
2 Eastern command Kolkata
3 Northern command 56 APO
4 Southern command Pune
5 Central command Lucknow
6 Army Training Command Shimla
7 South Western Command Jaipur

Each under a General officer Commanding-n-Chief of the rank of a Lieut ant-General. The Major Static Formation are divided into Areas, Independent Sub-Areas and sub-areas. Area is commanded by a General Officer Commanding of the rank of a Major General and an Independent Sub-Area and sub-area by a Brigadier.

Indian army is divided broadly into two main categories:-

  1. Arms
  2. Services

Indian Army consists of following ranks:-

  1. General
  2. Lt. General
  3. Major General
  4. Brigadier
  5. Colonel
  6. Lt. Colonel
  7. Major
  8. Captain
  9. Lieutenant

Indian Air Force

The Indian Air Force was officially established on 8 October 1932.

Brief History

The past 75 years have been eventful for Indian Air Force (IAF) from a flight of ‘Wapitis’ in 1932, to the fourth largest, professionally acclaimed, strategic Air Force responsible for guarding Nation’s vital interests. From 1948 to Kargil, the IAF has always fielded wining capabilities. IAF’s professional and prompt operations in peace time, at home and abroad and in peacekeeping, have earned many accolades.

The first five pilots commissioned into the Indian Air Force were H C Sircar, Subroto Mukerjee, Bhupendra Singh, A B Awan and Amarjeet Singh. A sixth officer, S N Tandon had to revert to Ground duties as he was too short. All of them were commissioned as ”Pilot Officers” in 1933. Subroto Mukerjee later went on to become the IAF’s first Indian Chief of Air Staff. Subsequent batches inducted before World_War_2 included Aspy Engineer, K K Majumdar, Narendra, R H D Singh, S N Goyal, Baba Mehar Singh, Prithpal Singh and Arjan Singh.
The Indian Air Force is headed by Chief of Air Staff with its headquarters at New Delhi. He is assisted by six Principal Staff Officers, Vice Chief of Air Staff, Deputy Chief of Air Staff, Air Officer Incharge Administration, Air Officer Incharge Maintenance, Air Officer Incharge Personnel and Training and Inspector General Flight Safety and Inspection.

S.No. Command Headquarter
1 Western command New Delhi
2 Central command Allahabad
3 Eastern command Shillong
4 South western command Jodhpur
5 Training command Bangaluru
6 Maintenance command Nagpur
7 Southern command Thiruvananthapuram

The Air force combat fleet is made up of 45 squadrons consists a variety of fighters, fighter-bombers, fighter interceptors, bombers and transport and logistics support aircraft.

  1. Air chief Marshal
  2. Air Marshal
  3. Air Vice Marshal
  4. Air Commodore
  5. Group Captain
  6. Wing Commander
  7. Squardron Leader
  8. Flt. Lieutenant
  9. Flying officers

Indian Navy

The Indian Navy, by virtue of its capabilities, strategic positioning and robust presence in the Indian Ocean Region (IOR), has been a catalyst for peace, tranquillity and stability in the IOR. It has been engaged other maritime nations, extending hand of friendship and co-operation.

On India attaining Independence, the Royal Indian Navy consisted of 32 ageing vessels suitable only for coastal patrol, along with 11,000 officers and men. The senior officers were drawn from the Royal Navy, with R Adm ITS Hall, CIE, being the first Post-independence Commander-in-Chief. The prefix ‘Royal’ was dropped on 26 January 1950 with India being constituted as a Republic. The first Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Navy was Adm Sir Edward Parry, KCB, who handed over to Adm Sir Mark Pizey, KBE, CB, DSO in 1951. Adm Pizey also became the first Chief of the Naval Staff in 1955, and was succeeded by V Adm SH Carlill, CB, DSO.

On 22 April 1958 V Adm RD Katari assumed office as the first Indian Chief of the Naval Staff.

Indian Navy is headed by Chief of Navel Staff with headquarters at New Delhi. He is assisted by Vice Chief of Naval Staff, Chief of Personnel, Chief of Material and Deputy Chief of Naval Staff. The Navy is organised into following commands:-

S.No. Command Headquarter
1 Eastern command Vishakhapatnam
2 Southern command Kochi
3 Western command Mumbai


  1. Navy
  2. Admiral
  3. Vice Admiral
  4. Read Admiral
  5. Commodore
  6. Captain
  7. Commander
  8. Lt Commander
  9. Lieutenant
  10. Sub-Lieutenant

The Indian Navy is divided into the following broad categories

    • Administration
    • Logistics and Material
    • Training
    • The Fleets
    • The Naval Aviation
    • The Submarine Arm.

competitive exams books list

Static GK 2019 PDF Notes- Get Free Static GK Notes PDF

Latest Sarkari Naukri 2019 | Vacancy 2019 | Check here |

Join Our Telegram Channel- Click Here

Prashant Chaturvedi

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Notify of