2019 AIBA World Boxing Championships: Medal Tally, Records, Winners

2019 AIBA World Boxing Championships: The 2019 AIBA World Boxing Championships are held in Yekaterinburg, Russia from 9 to 21 September 2019. Venue was Ekaterinburg Expo. Total Events were 8. Amit Panghal becomes the first Indian male boxer to clinch a World Championship silver. The is the first time India finish their campaign with two medals (Manish Kaushik – bronze medal) at the World Championships.

The 2021 AIBA World Boxing Championships are going to be held in New Delhi, India. This is the first time, this event will take place in India.

Amit Panghal’s silver has taken India’s medal tally in the prestigious tournament to six medals; five bronze and one silver. On Friday, Manish Kaushik (63kg) lost to top-seeded Andy Cruz of Cuba by unanimous decision as the Indian boxer finished the tournament with a bronze medal to his name.

India won total 6 All Time Medal in AIBA World Boxing Championships from 1974 to 2019.

About AIBA World Boxing Championships: The AIBA World Boxing Championships and the AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships are biennial amateur boxing competitions organised by the International Boxing Association (AIBA), which is the sport governing body. Alongside the Olympic boxing programme, it is the highest level of competition for the sport.2019 AIBA World Boxing Championships

The championships was first held in 1974 Havana, Cuba as a men’s only event and the first women’s championships was held over 25 years later in 2001. The men’s and women’s competitions are held separately and since 2006 the biennial championships have been held in alternating years.

The number of weight categories was reduced from twelve to eleven in 2003 with the removal of the light middleweight division (−71 kg). In 2011 the weight categories went down to ten with the removal of the featherweight division (−57 kg).

Also Read: 2019 World Wrestling Championships

In 2019 the weight categories went down to eight with the removal of the light flyweight division (−49 kg) and including of the featherweight division (−57 kg) instead of bantamweight division (−56 kg) and lightweight division (−60 kg).

Medal Events:

Flyweight: Gold- Shakhobidin Zoirov (Uzbekistan), Silver- Amit Panghal (India)
Featherweight: Gold- Mirazizbek (Uzbekistan), Silver- Lazaro Alvarexz (Cuba)
Lightweight: Gold- Andy Cruz (Cuba), Silver- Keyshawn Davis (USA), Bronze- Manish Kaushik (India)
Walterweight: Gold- Andrey Zamkovoy (Russia), Silver- Pat McCormack (England)
Middleweight: Gold- Gleb Bakshi (Russia), Silver- Eumir Marcial (phillippines)
Lightheavyweight: Gold- Bekzad Nurdauletov (Kazakhstan), Silver- Dilshodbek Ruzmetov (Uzbekistan)
Heavyweight: Muslim Gadzhimagomedov (Russia), Silver- Julio Castillo (Ecuador)
Superheavyweight: Bakhodir Jalolov (Uzbekistan), Silver- Kamshybek Kunkabayev (Kazakhstan)

Also Read: 2019 World Wrestling Championships

Medal Tally:

Rank Nation Gold Silver Bronze Total
1 Uzbekistan 3 1 1 5
2 Russia 3 0 1 4
3 Kazakhstan 1 1 4 6
4 Cuba 1 1 1 3
5 England 0 1 2 3
6 India 0 1 1 2
7 Ecuador 0 1 0 1
7 Philippines 0 1 0 1
7 United States 0 1 0 1
10 Armenia 0 0 1 1
10 Australia 0 0 1 1
10 Brazil 0 0 1 1
10 Bulgaria 0 0 1 1
10 France 0 0 1 1
10  Mongolia 0 0 1 1
Totals (15 nations) 8 8 16 32

Telegram Channel ATC AddaTelegram Channel PCT

Also Read: Purchase Best Study Materials

Also Read: Current Affairs 2019 | Static GK 2019

Prashant Chaturvedi

Introducing ATCAdda.com

Prashant Chaturvedi

Spread the love

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *