Man Booker Prize Winners List PDF (1969-2018) | Static GK 2018 PDF

Man Booker Prize Winners List PDF : We have seen a lot of questions was based on Awards, Prize in various exams like SBI PO, SBI Clerk, IBPS PO, IBPS Clerk, RBI Assistant. Questions based on Awards, Prize are always being asked in SBI, IBPS, SSC & various competitive exams.  So here we are sharing Man Booker Prize Winners List PDF. You can download pdf by clicking on the link given below. Man Booker Prize Winners List PDF (1969-2018) | Static GK 2018 PDF | The Man Booker Prize for Fiction (formerly known as the Booker–McConnell Prize and commonly known simply as the Booker Prize) is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original novel written in the English language and published in the UK. The winner of the Man Booker Prize is generally assured international renown and success; therefore, the prize is of great significance for the book trade. From its inception, only novels written by Commonwealth, Irish, and South African (and later Zimbabwean) citizens were eligible to receive the prize; in 2014, however, this eligibility was widened to any English-language novel—a change which proved controversial.


Man Booker Prize Winners List PDF

In 1993, to mark the prize’s 25th anniversary, a “Booker of Bookers” Prize was given. Three Judges chose Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children, the 1981 winner, as “the best novel out of all the winners.

Similarly, The Best of the Booker was awarded in 2008 to celebrate the prize’s 40th anniversary.

The prize money awarded with the Booker Prize was originally £21,000, and was subsequently raised to £50,000 in 2002.

In 1969, PH Newby became the first man to win the Booker Prize, for Something to Answer for.

In 1970, Bernice Rubens became the first woman to win the Booker Prize, for The Elected Member.

The rules of the Booker changed in 1971; previously, it had been awarded retrospectively to books published prior to the year in which the award was given. In 1971 the year of eligibility was changed to the same as the year of the award.

Historically, the winner of the Man Booker Prize had been required to be a citizen of the Commonwealth of Nations, the Republic of Ireland, or Zimbabwe. It was announced on 18 September 2013 that future Man Booker Prize awards would consider authors from anywhere in the world, so long as their work was in English and published in the UK.

Following this expansion, the first winner not from the Commonwealth, Ireland, or Zimbabwe was American Paul Beatty in 2016. Another American, George Saunders, won The Man Booker Prize in 2017.

The Man, Asian Literary Prize was an annual literary award between 2007 and 2012, given to the best novel by an Asian writer, either written in English or translated into English, and published in the previous calendar year. It was announced in October 2012 that Man Group would no longer sponsor the prize after the 2012 winner was announced in 2013.

The Man Booker Prize Winners List (1969-2018)

1969- P. H. Newby (Something to Answer For)

1970- Bernice Rubens (The Elected Member)

1970- J. G. Farrell (Troubles)

1971- V. S. Naipaul (In a Free State)

1972- John Berger (G.)

1973- J. G. Farrell (The Siege of Krishnapur)

1974- Nadine Gordimer (The Conservationist)

1974- Stanley Middleton (Holiday)

1975- Ruth Prawer Jhabvala (Heat and Dust)

1976- David Storey (Saville)

1977- Paul Scott (Staying On)

1978- Iris Murdoch (The Sea, the Sea)

1979- Penelope Fitzgerald (Offshore)

1980- William Golding (Rites of Passage)

1981- Salman Rushdie (Midnight’s Children)

1982- Thomas Keneally (Schindler’s Ark)

1983- J. M. Coetzee (Life & Times of Michael)

1984- Anita Brookner (Hotel du Lac)

1985- Keri Hulme (The Bone People)

1986- Kingsley Amis (The Old Devils)

1987- Penelope Lively (Moon Tiger)

1988- Peter Carey (Oscar and Lucinda)

1989- Kazuo Ishiguro (The Remains of the Day)

1990- A. S. Byatt (Possession)

1991-Ben Okri (The Famished Road)

1992- Michael Ondaatje (The English Patient)

1992- Barry Unsworth (Sacred Hunger)

1993- Roddy Doyle (Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha)

1994- James Kelman (How Late It Was, How Late)

1995- Pat Barker (The Ghost Road)

1996- Graham Swift (Last Orders)

1997- Arundhati Roy (The God of Small Things)

1998- Ian McEwan (Amsterdam)

1999- J. M. Coetzee (Disgrace)

2000- Margaret Atwood (The Blind Assassin)

2001- Peter Carey (True History of the Kelly Gang)

2002- Yann Martel (Life of Pi)

2003- DBC Pierre (Vernon God Little)

2004- Alan Hollinghurst (The Line of Beauty)

2005- John Banville (The Sea)

2006- Kiran Desai (The Inheritance of Loss)

2007- Anne Enright (The Gathering)

2008- Aravind Adiga (The White Tiger)

2009- Hilary Mantel (Wolf Hall)

2010- Howard Jacobson (The Finkler Question)

2011- Julian Barnes (The Sense of an Ending)

2012- Hilary Mantel (Bring Up the Bodies)

2013- Eleanor Catton (The Luminaries)

2014- Richard Flanagan (The Narrow Road to the Deep North)

2015- Marlon James (A Brief History of Seven Killings)

2016- Paul Beatty (The Sellout)

2017- George Saunders (Lincoln in the Bardo)


Previous Post- UPSC 2018 Prelims Question Paper Free PDF Download


ALSO READ: Static GK Capsule 2018 PDF (English Version)

ALSO READ: Static GK Capsule 2018 PDF (Hindi Version)

ALSO READ: Monthly Current Affairs Capsules 2018 PDF

ALSO READ: Sports Current Affairs 2018 | Sports GK 2018


ALSO READ: Previous Year Question Papers PDF

Best books for AAI, DRDO, DFCCIL, CGPDTM