List of Presidents of India 1947 to 2019: Static GK 2020 PDF |

list of presidents of india

List of Presidents of India 1947 to 2019: General Awareness is a very important section in almost every competitive exams like FSSAI, RRB NTPC, FCI, CWC, LIC, ESIC, IBPS, SBI, RBI, AAI, DRDO, ISRO, NTRO, State Level Exams, UPSC &  Various Competitive Exams. Questions based on Static GK are always asked in various competitive exams.

In this post we are providing you List of Presidents of India 1947 to 2019. You can download PDF from the link given below. Get Static GK PDF Notes for all competitive exams like FSSAI, RRB NTPC, FCI, CWC, LIC, ESIC, IBPS, SBI, RBI, AAI, DRDO, ISRO, NTRO, State Level Exams, UPSC &  Various Competitive Exams. Practice Static GK Questions and Answers Here. You can download all Static GK 2020 notes from our website Prashant Chaturvedi.

President is the very important person in Indian politics. India has 14 Presidents and 3 Acting Presidents from 1947 to 2019. Here we have provided the India’s former Presidents and Acting Presidents list and some important points about them which is very useful topic in competitive examinations.

In many previous govt competitive examinations we have observe many questions regarding the topic Indian Presidents List 1947 to 2019.

From this topic The presidents of India the the questions are expected like the first president of India, the names of the Indian presidents political parties, the tenures of the presidents, order of the presidents, important points regarding Indian presidents and their timings.

This information will give you the assistance to reach your target in your competitive examination.List of Presidents of India 1947 to 2019

Important Points:

  1. In India the president is the first citizen. He is the Commander in chief of the Indian Armed Forces.
  2. Though the President has such great powers, his role is ceremonial. Actually all the decisions are taken by the Prime Minister and his cabinet.
  3. The Electoral College made of parliament houses members, Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha, Vidhan Sabha members and state legislative assemblies elect the president of the India.
  4. The tenure of the Indian President is Five years. (According to 56 article, V part)
  5. Since the President Post establishment in 1950 we have seen 13 Presidents and 3 Acting Presidents.
  6. The President post introduced after India declared as a republic.
  7. India has three Acting Presidents- Varahagiri Venkata Giri, Muhammad Hidayatullah, Basappa Danappa Jatti
  8. President left the office generally on July 25.

List of Presidents of India 1947 to 2019

S No. PresidentPartyFrom ToNews
1Dr. Babu Rajendra PrasadINC-Indian National Congress26th Jan 1950-13th May 1962 1. Rajendra Prasad was the first President ofIndia2. He is From Bihar State3. Feedom Fighter4. Rajendra Prasad was only the only president Served two terms for the country.
2Sarvepalli RadhakrishnanIndependent Candidate13th May 1962-13th May 1967 1. Philosopher and Writer2. Received Bharatharathna im 1954
3Zakir HussainIndependent Candidate13th May 1967-3th May 19691. Received Padma Vibhushan and Bharatharathna2. Died In office
 Varahagiri Venkata GiriIndependent Candidate3rd May 1969-20th Jul 19691. Acting President Of India
 Muhammad HidayatullahIndependent Candidate20th Jul 1969-24th Aug 19691. Acting Ptesident Of India 2. Served as Chief Justice Of India
4Varahagiri Venkata GiriIndependent Candidate24th Aug 1969-24th Aug 1974 1. Only the person Worked as Acting President and President Of India
5Fakhruddin Ali AhmedINC-Indian National Congress24th Aug 1974-11th Feb 1977 1. In 1977 he died before his term ended2. He was the second President who died in the office
 Basappa Danappa JattiIndependent Candidate11th Feb 1977-25th Jul 1977 1. Acting Ptesident Of  India
6Neelam Sanjiva ReddyJanata Party25 Jul.1977-25 Jul 1982 1. Andhra Pradesh 1st CM.2. Elected For Lok Sabha Speaker in 1977
7Giani Zail SinghINC-Indian National Congress25th Jul 1982-25th Jul 1987 
8Ramaswamy VenkataramanINC-Indian National Congress25th Jul 1987-25th Jul 19921. Jailed by the British for being a freedom fighter in1942
9Shankar Dayal SharmaINC-Indian National Congress25th Jul 1992-25th Jul 1997 1. Madhya Pradesh CM2. Served as a Governor of Andhra Pradesh, Panjab and Madhya Pradesh
10Kocheril Raman NarayananIndependent Candidate25th Jul 1997-25th Jul 20021. Served as  Indian ambassador to Turkey, China, Thailand and USA .2. Worked as  VC to SeveralUniversities
11A. P. J. Abdul KalamIndependent Candidate25th Jul 2002-25th Jul 2007 1. One of the India Great scientist who developed nuclearprogramme and ballistic missile.2. Kalam is known as PEOPLE’S PRESIDENT .
12Pratibha PatilINC-Indian National Congress25th Jul 2007-25 Jul 2012 1. First Woman elected as  President of Inida.2. Rajasthan’s First female governor
13Pranab MukherjeeINC-Indian National Congress25th Jul 2012-25 July 2017 1. Held various positions in Indian National Congress cabinet as Defense Minister,  Finance Minister, Foreign Minister and Deputy Chairman of Planning Commission etc
14Ram Nath KovindBharatiya Janta Party25 July 2017- till nowGovernor of Bihar

STATIC GK 2020 Guide (eBook): Click Here to Purchase

Follow us on- Facebook | YouTube | Telegram | Instagram | Pinterest

Telegram Channel AAI ATC Exam Telegram Channel PCT

Also Read: Purchase Best Study Materials

Also Read: Current Affairs 2019 | Static GK 2019

Prashant Chaturvedi


Prashant Chaturvedi

Author: Prashant Chaturvedi

"I" do not exist anymore.